Mises Wins the Nobel Prize in Economic Science, well sort of …


Peter Boettke:

In his obituary of Bertil Ohlin, Paul Samuelson plays the game of “what if” — in this case, “what if the Nobel Prize was established in 1900, then who would have won the prize between 1901 and 1930?”

This is list of names Samuelson thinks would have won the prize:

“One cannot forbear playing the game of might-have-been. Here is the most likely scenario of awards from 1901 on: Bohm-Bawerk, Marshall, J.B. Clark, Walras, and Wicksell; Carl Menger, Pareto, Wicksteed, Irving Fisher, and Edgeworth; Sombart, Mitchell, Pigou, Adolph Wagner, Allyn Young, and Cannan; Davenport, Taussig, Schumpeter, Veblen, and Bortkiewicz; Cassel, J. M. Keynes, Heckscher, J. R. Commons, and J. M. Clark; Hawtrey, von Mises, Robertson, H. L. Moore, and F. H. Knight.”(p. 358, n1)

What do you think of that list? And, what do you think it says about Mises’s stature as an economic thinker if even Samuelson signaled that he would have been honored with the Nobel Prize for his contributions to economic science?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: